Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

South Africa announce squad for first two Sri Lanka Tests

The selectors have announced a squad of 13 for the first two Tests against Sri Lanka that starts on Boxing Day.

Wayne Parnell, who was ruled out of the Australian tour through injury, returns to the squad.

It will be the first time that Faf du Plessis will permanently take over as captain after AB de Villiers declared his decision to resign from the post.

Theunis de Bruyn, a top-order batsman, was named as the only new cap in South Africa's 13-man squad.

Cricket South Africa selection convener Linda Zondi said,



De Bruyn is the latest player to be rewarded for consistently good form at franchise and South Africa A level. As far as the overall squad is concerned they deserve the fullest vote of confidence for their performances in the two recent Test series against New Zealand and Australia and we are looking forward to more of the same against Sri Lanka.



Proteas Test squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Stephen Cook, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.

Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: