Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

The Big Bash League


The BBL will host their fifth edition of the tournament this year and the highly anticipated tournament will kick off on the 17th of December (Schedule).

This summer is about to pump the heat up to an adrenaline high level with the BBL, so be sure to fasten your seat belt and get onboard with the action.





Sydney Thunder

Sydney Sixers

Adelaide Strikers

Melbourne Stars

Brisbane Heat

Melbourne Renegades

Hobart Hurricanes

Perth Scorchers


Key Players

Players to watch out for this 05 season.


Shane Warne dismisses rumours of playing in BBL 2015. More

Mitchell Johnson to skip the big bash league. More

Strikers to miss the services of Pollard. More

Big Bash cricket in top 10 sports leagues in world. More

BBL History

Since its inception 8 teams have been a part of this prestigious and coveted title. Perth Scorchers have achieved glory twice, which makes them the most successful team in all of BBL. Also, they have featered in every BBL final till date. The other teams who have tasted success are the Sydney Sixers and the Brisbane Heat.

The tournament has followed a routine format since its establishment in 2011. They follow an eight team format during which each team plays every other team atleast once during the entire season. In addition to that, each team has been handed a specific rival whom they will go on and play for the second time in one season. This specific rival team does not change across seasons and will remain a constant throughout. For instance, Sydney Thunders and Sydney Sixers are assigned rivals to each other which amounts to having two Melbourne derbies and two Sydney derbies within the span of a single season.

The group stage makes up for eight rounds with four matches played in each round. Each franchise plays eight group stage matches, four at home and four away. This leads to the top four ranked teams qualifying for the semi-finals. The final of this grandiose event is staged at the home ground of the team that tops the league table.

Rate this article: