Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Summary of IPL Auction 2017

History was made in the IPL Auction of 2017, after England all-rounder Ben Stokes was bought by Rising Pune Supergiants for a whopping INR 14.5 crore (USD 2.16 million approx.), the most expensive overseas player ever bought.

The in-form player was predicted to be in demand during this year’s IPL auction but no one expected him to be the most sought-after player, with almost all the teams vying for him.

Another big sale was that of England fast bowler Tymal Mills, who was bought by Royal Challengers Bangalore after news broke out of them parting ways with Mitchell Starc.

Mills went for INR 12 crore (USD 1.8 million approx.), the second most expensive sale at the tenth player auction.

England players seemed to be in demand, as Chris Woakes was the third England player to get a hefty payday; he was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders for INR 4.2 crore (USD 625,000 approx.)

Afghanistan allrounder Mohammad Nabi, 18-year-old leg-spinner Rashid Khan, and UAE batsman Chirag Suri became the first Associate players after Netherlands' Ryan ten Doeschate to get an IPL bid. 

Delhi Daredevils were on a roll, as they bought 4 overseas players in the first 90 minutes of the auction, exhausting their quota of nine overseas players. Kolkata Knight Riders were the most dormant of the teams, sitting quietly in the first half and then picking up pace later on.

Most of the experienced Indian players went unsold, while plenty of uncapped players were bought at high prices.

Here’s a summary of the players bought by the teams:

Mumbai Indians: Nicholas Pooran (INR 30 lakhs), Mitchell Johnson (INR 2 crores), K Gowtham (INR 2 crores), Karn Sharma (INR 3.2 crores), Saurabh Tiwary (INR 30 lakhs), Asela Gunaratne (INR 30 lakhs), Kulwant Khejroliya (INR 10 lakhs).

Kings XI Punjab: Eoin Morgan (INR 2 crores), Rahul Tewatia (INR 25 lakhs), T Natarajan (INR 3 crores), Matt Henry (INR 50 lakhs), Varun Aaron (INR 2.8 crores), Martin Guptill (INR 50 lakhs), Darren Sammy (INR 30 lakhs), Rinku Singh (INR 10 lakhs).

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Tanmay Agarwal (INR 10 lakhs), Mohammad Nabi (INR 30 lakhs), Eklavya Dwivedi (INR 75 lakhs), Rashid Khan (INR 4 crores), Pravin Tambe (INR 10 lakhs), Chris Jordan (INR 50 lakhs), Ben Laughlin (INR 30 lakhs), Mohammed Siraj (INR 2.6 crores).

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Pawan Negi (INR 1 Crore), Tymal Mills (INR 12 crores), Aniket Choudhary (INR 2 crores), Praveen Dubey (INR 10 lakhs), Billy Stanlake (INR 30 lakhs).

Delhi Daredevils: Angelo Mathews (INR 2 crores), Corey Anderson (INR 1 crore), Kagiso Rabada (INR 5 crores), Pat Cummins (INR 4.5 crores), Ankit Bawne (INR 10 lakhs), Aditya Tare (Base price INR 25 lakhs), M Ashwin (INR 1 crore), Navdeep Saini (INR 10 lakhs), Shashank Singh (INR 10 lakhs).

Rising Pune Supergiants: Ben Stokes (INR 14.5 crores), Jaydev Unadkat (INR 30 lakhs), Rahul Chahar (INR 10 lakhs), Saurabh Kumar (INR 10 lakhs), Daniel Christian (INR 1 crore), Milind Tandon (INR 10 lakhs), Rahul Tripathi (INR 10 lakhs), Lockie Ferguson (INR 50 lakhs), Manoj Tiwary (INR 50 lakhs).

Kolkata Knight Riders: Trent Boult (INR 5 crores), Chris Woakes (INR 4.2 crores), Rishi Dhawan (INR 55 lakhs), Nathan Coulter-Nile (INR 3.5 crores), Rovman Powell (INR 30 lakhs), R Sanjay Yadav (INR 10 lakhs), Ishank Jaggi (INR 10 lakhs), Darren Bravo (INR 50 lakhs).

Gujarat Lions: Nathu Singh (INR 50 lakhs), Basil Thampi (INR 85 lakhs), Tejas Baroka (INR 10 lakhs), Manpreet Gony (INR 60 lakhs), Jason Roy (INR 1 crore), Munaf Patel (INR 30 lakhs), Chirag Suri (INR 10 lakhs), Shelley Shaurya (INR 10 lakhs), Shubham Agarwal (INR 10 lakhs), Pratham Singh (INR 10 lakhs), Akshdeep Nath (INR 10 lakhs).

The 10th edition of the IPL begins on April 5th, 2017.

Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our  HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: