Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket

Big Bash schedule for 2016/17 has been released

The schedule of the next season of the Big Bash league has been released.

The sixth season will kickstart with the prevailing champions Sydney Thunder hosting the Sydney Sixers at Spotless Stadium in Sydney on December 20, 2016, in the Sydney Derby, and the Final would be played on January 28, 2017 (Sunday) which would be hosted by the highest-ranked qualifying team.

A total of 35 games will be played in 40 days during a holiday season in Australia.

A New Year’s Day doubleheader of Big Bash League (BBL) derbies will mark the new T20 season at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

The BBL and WBBL matches on January 1, 2017, between the Melbourne Stars and Renegades were confirmed today.

Despite some contemplation, no BBL games will be played on 24 or 25 December , with administrators at Cricket Australia sticking with the known and tested formula that has made Big Bash League (BBL) Australia’s most rated sports competition on TV.

The now traditional New Year's Eve fixture will return to the Adelaide Oval, with the Strikers hosting the Sixers, while the Melbourne Derbies will again be played across the first two weekends in January.

The traditional New Year's Eve fixture (31st December 2016) will be played at the Adelaide Oval, with the Adelaide Strikers playing host to the Sydney Sixers.

The schedule also features 4 doubleheaders, and the Boxing Day match (December 26, 2016) will take place in Hobart instead of Perth as the Hobart Hurricanes take on the Melbourne Stars, a big change compared to previous seasons.

Also, a total of 14 doubleheaders will be played in this year's Women's Big Bash League (WBBL), up from ten which were played in last summer.

 

Schedule for the Big Bash League

 

Match

Date

Sydney Thunder v Sydney Sixers

Tuesday, 20 December 2016 

Adelaide Strikers v Brisbane Heat

Wednesday, 21 December 2016

Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Thunder

Thursday, 22 December 2016

Sydney Sixers v Hobart Hurricanes 

Friday, 23 December 2016

Perth Scorchers v Adelaide Strikers

Friday, 23 December 2016

Hobart Hurricanes v Melbourne Stars

Monday, 26 December 2016

Sydney Sixers v Perth Scorchers 

Tuesday, 27 December 2016

Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat 

Wednesday, 28 December 2016

Melbourne Renegades v Perth Scorchers 

Thursday, 29 December 2016

Brisbane Heat v Hobart Hurricanes 

Friday, 30 December 2016

Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Sixers

Saturday, 31 December 2016

Melbourne Stars v Melbourne Renegades

Sunday, 1 January 2017

Perth Scorchers v Sydney Thunder

Sunday, 1 January 2017

Hobart Hurricanes v Adelaide Strikers

Monday, 2 January 2017

Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers

Tuesday, 3 January 2017

Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Stars

Wednesday, 4 January 2017

Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat

Thursday, 5 January 2017

Adelaide Strikers v Hobart Hurricanes 

Friday, 6 January 2017

Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars

Saturday, 7 January 2017

Hobart Hurricanes v Sydney Thunder

Sunday, 8 January 2017

Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Renegades

Monday, 9 January 2017

Melbourne Stars v Adelaide Strikers

Tuesday, 10 January 2017

Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers 

Wednesday, 11 January 2017

Melbourne Renegades v Hobart Hurricanes 

Thursday, 12 January 2017

Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder

Saturday, 14 January 2017

Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Stars

Saturday, 14 January 2017

Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Renegades

Monday, 16 January 2017

Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat

Tuesday, 17 January 2017

Sydney Thunder v Adelaide Strikers 

Wednesday, 18 January 2017

Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Renegades

Friday, 20 January 2017

Hobart Hurricanes v Perth Scorchers

Saturday, 21 January 2017

Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers

Saturday, 21 January 2017

BBL Semi Final 1

Tuesday, 24 January 2017

BBL Semi Final 2

Wednesday, 25 January 2017

BBL Final

Saturday, 28 January 2017

 

Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!



Rate this article: