Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

New Zealand announce squad for T20 series against Bangladesh

New Zealand have named big-hitters Tom Bruce and Ben Wheeler in their 14-player squad for the upcoming T20s against Bangladesh

Allrounder Corey Anderson, who has been plagued by a back injury for the major part of this year, has been picked as a batsman. 

Fast bowler Trent Boult was picked but will be rested for the first of the three T20s

Tim Southee has been rested for the entire series in preparation for the two Tests that follow.

Ross Taylor, who had had surgery to remove a benign growth in his left eye after the Hamilton Test against Pakistan in late November, has not been picked for this series, but will return to domestic T20 cricket.

New Zealand will be playing their 3 ODI games against Bangladesh from 26 December. 

The three T20s against Bangladesh will be played from January 3 in Napier. This series is New Zealand's first T20I assignment since the World T20.

After the T20 series Bangladesh and New Zealand will commence with two Test matches from 12 January.

New Zealand squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Ben Wheeler.

In:  Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, James Neesham, Ben Wheeler.

Out: Grant Elliott, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

*Compared with New Zealand's World T20 squad from March.


Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: