Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Zaheer Khan appointed captain of Delhi Daredevils for IPL9

Delhi Daredevils logoDelhi Daredevils on Monday announced that Zaheer Khan has been appointed captain of the franchise for the 2016 Vivo IPL season.

Rahul Dravid, mentor of Delhi Daredevils said


Zaheer has been a leader for a very long time. Anyone who has followed Indian cricket will know the impact Zak has had. He has always proven himself to be one of the leaders. Zak has a big personality, but it is the steel, focus and drive behind the outward confidence which I think he will bring to the captaincy and that I am sure will inspire the rest of the team.

Dravid also stated - " He has the respect of the dressing room and the franchise is proud to have him as our captain. I would like to congratulate him on the appointment and wish him, and the rest of the squad all the very best. JP did a fantastic job last season. He will continue to be part of the leadership group. I am looking forward to working with Zak, JP, Paddy (Head Coach) and the rest of the support staff as we build towards this upcoming season."

Zaheer Khan retired from international cricket, having played 92 Tests with 311 wickets, whereas he scalped 282 ODI wickets in 200 matches. He also played 17 T20 Internationals for India.

Zaheer Khan to lead #DilliBoys as the captain of the Delhi Daredevils squad for season 2016.

— Delhi Daredevils (@DelhiDaredevils) March 28, 2016

Zaheer stated - “It is a huge honour to captain Delhi Daredevils. To get this responsibility is a way for me to give back to the game. I firmly believe that with the players currently involved we have the makings of a very good side, a young side that can surprise people. The potential of this group of players is immense and it is now up to us as players to turn that potential into consistent performances.”

IPL  2016 begins on 9th of April with defending champions taking on Rising Pune SuperGiants which shall be led by M.S Dhoni and coached by Stephen Fleming.

Complete IPL schedule here


Rate this article: