Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Shaun Marsh named in Australia squad

Experienced top order batsman Shaun Marsh's stop-start international career has been revived for the third test against New Zealand in Adelaide next week.

West Australian Marsh has been recalled to replace the injured Usman Khawaja, who is out with a hamstring injury, and joins brother Mitchell in the 13-man squad.

However Australian captain Steve Smith has indicated he is likely to move back up to the No 3 spot previously occupied by Khawaja.

Victorian speedster James Pattinson, who made a spectacular test debut against New Zealand in Brisbane four years ago, has been added, and may yet play with concerns over fast bowling workloads.

He takes the place of the retired Mitchell Johnson, but there's speculation both Pattinson and veteran Peter Siddle could play in Adelaide with Josh Hazlewood to sit the test out, with another three matches to come this summer against the West Indies.

And New South Wales left arm spinner Steve O'Keefe has been included to bolster the squad to 13, to cover all eventualities.



We have opted to include an extra spinner in the squad for Adelaide as we are unsure what conditions we will see there.


national selector Rod Marsh said today.

''Stephen was included in our squad that was to go to Bangladesh (before the New Zealand tour) and if he should get an opportunity we think he will make the most of it."

Pattinson ripped out five New Zealand wickets in the second innings at the Gabba in 2011 but has had injury setbacks since then.

"James has made a good return to Shield cricket following his injury and has earned this re-call," Marsh said.

''He has worked incredibly hard and we are confident that he is ready to perform at test level if selected."

Australian third test squad - Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Joe Burns, Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill (wk), Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon, Steve O'Keefe.

Source - NZ Herald

Rate this article: