Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Preliminary squad for Asia cup T20 and World T20 announced by Bangladesh

Source - International Business Times

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) selectors have announced a 27-man preliminary sqaud for the upcoming Asia Cup T20 tournament and the ICC World T20 2016. BCB is also working on arranging a three-match or a five-match T20 series with Zimbabwe ahead of the Asia Cup which will be played in Bangladesh

The selectors have named four uncapped players in the 27-man squad. Abu Hider, a talented young left-arm seamer, has made it to the Bangladesh squad for the first time. Hider was one of the highest wicket-takers in the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). He bagged 21 wickets in 12 games at an average of 15.04 and an economy rate of 6.91. Some have stated that he can be as good as Mustafizur Rahman, who was recently named in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

Batsman Mosaddek Hossain, left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib and wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan are the other three uncapped players the BCB selectors have picked in the squad.

Rony Talukdar and legspinner Jubair Hossain have been left out of the Bangladesh squad and the chief selector Faruque Ahmed said they do not have any plans of selecting the two players in the immediate future.

Rubel Hossain has also been left out of the preliminary squad. Hossain has been suffering from a calf injury and is yet to recover.  

Bangladesh preliminary squad:

Tamim Iqbal, Shabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Masrafe Bin Mortaza, Imrul Kayes, Mustafizur Rahman, Jahurul Islam, Abu Haider Rony, Liton Kumar Das, Al Amin Hossain, Anamul Hoque Bijoy, Shafiul Islam, Mosadek Hossain Saikot, Md Shahid, Md Mithun, Abul Hasan Raju, Mushfiqur Rahim, Taskin Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mahmudullah, Arafat Sunny, Nasir Hossain, Saqlain Sajib, Qazi Nurul Hasan, Shohag Gazi, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury.

Rate this article: