Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Michael Clarke to make cricket comeback in Hong Kong T20 Blitz

In a major coup for the Hong Kong Cricket Association, the former Australian captain has signed on to play for the Kowloon Cantons in the four-team tournament, which takes place from May 27-29. 

Cantons play their first game against the Hung Hom JD Jaguars on May 28

The 35-year-old won’t be the only Australian in Kowloon, with former Western Australia keeper and two-capped one-day international player Ryan Campbell signed on as a player/coach. Campbell played for Hong Kong at the recent World Twenty20.

Alongside playing in the tournament, Clarke will also be aiding the leadership development of Hong Kong’s men’s and women’s squads.

Clarke retired from international cricket at the end of last year’s Ashes before pulling out of the summer’s Big Bash League to spend some time away from the game.

In February he returned to cricket for Sydney grade cricket club Western Suburbs, scoring 48 against Randwick-Petersham. He has not played a competitive match since.

In the lead-up to that match Clarke signalled his intent to return to the game as a Twenty20 specialis

T20 cricket can be a big money-spinner for players, with Australian veteran Shane Watson netting a US$1.4 million contract at this year's Indian Premier League auction.

Organisers said they were delighted to welcome Clarke to the T20 Blitz, which follows Hong Kong's appearance at this year's World Twenty20 tournament.


To summarise Michael's credentials is impossible, he is simply one of the best cricketers of this generation, if not ever.


said Hong Kong Cricket Association chief Tim Cutler.

Clarke boasts a modest average of 21.05 and strike rate of 108.22 in T20s, with just one half-century from 40 innings.

The last of those innings was back in 2012 for the now defunct Pune Warriors in the Indian Premier, with his T20 career for Australia ending in 2010.

Rate this article: