Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Champions Trophy schedule announced by ICC

ICC has today revealed the schedule for the ICC Champions trophy which will be held in England next year.

Australia’s resurgent rivalry with New Zealand is set to continue at the ICC Champions Trophy next year after the World Cup finalists were announced in the same group today.

The sport’s governing body marked 12 months until the opening day of the one-day international tournament by revealing the full schedule, in which eight teams will contest 15 matches across the 18-day event.

Cardiff, Edgbaston and The Oval will be the three venues to host the action, which begins 1 June next year.

Australia and the Black Caps will be joined by Bangladesh and England in Group A, while defending champions India are joined by South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan in Group B. 
The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.

Despite taking home the ICC World Twenty20 title earlier this year, West Indies failed to qualify for the 2017 ODI tournament when they fell to ninth in the rankings at the time of the qualification cut-off on 30 September, 2015.

The event opens with England taking on Bangladesh, while the now mandatory India-Pakistan blockbuster will take place at Edgbaston on 4 June. 

At the event, ICC CEO David Richardson said - 



The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 is not just an ODI competition, it carries a great deal of value since it is being played just three months before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 qualification cut-off date. As such, every point earned here could be crucial.



Next year’s tournament also marks the start of a hectic two-year period for the ECB, with England also set to host the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup, the 2019 Men’s World Cup and then the Ashes on their home soil.

Here are the groups :

Group A:  Australia (Seed 1), New Zealand (4), England (6), Bangladesh (7)

Group B:  India (Seed 2), South Africa (3), Sri Lanka (5), Pakistan (8)

*seeds based on rankings at 30 September, 2015


1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (Day)

2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (D)

3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (D)

4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (D)

5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (D/N)

6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (D)

7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (D/N)

8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (D)

9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (D)

10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston (D)

11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval (D)

12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (D)

14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (D)

15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (D)

18 June – Final, The Oval (D)

19 June – Reserve day (D)

Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: