Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Carlos Brathwaite named West Indies T20 captain

West Indies allrounder Carlos Brathwaite has been named as the new T20 captain of the team for the two matches against India later this month.

Brathwaite has played only 8 T20Is and is famously known for hitting four consecutive sixes to win West Indies their second World T20 final in April.

Darren Sammy, who has led West Indies to two World T20 titles, was sacked and also left out of the 13-man squad.

A WICB release said, 



With regards to Sammy's omission from the squad, the Chairman of selectors noted that the named squad was selected purely on players' performances. The selection panel has expressed its thanks to former captain Sammy for his leadership of that format of the game for the two World Cup titles.



Two major inclusions in the team are that of Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard, who were not in the World T20 squad.

West Indies T20 Squad: 

Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine

Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: