Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

BCCI announces Indian cricket season 2016-17

The Tour Programme and Fixtures Committee of the BCCI met in Mumbai earlier on Thursday to finalise the schedules for International and domestic cricket season of 2016-17.

Rajkot, Vizag, Pune, Dharamsala, Ranchi and Indore will host Test matches for the first time in the forthcoming season where India will be playing 13 Test matches, 8 One day Internationals, and 3 T20 Internationals.

The home season will start with 3 Test matches and 5 ODI’s against New Zealand followed by 5 Test Matches, 3 ODI’s and 3 T20I’s against England. Australia will visit India in February-March 2017 to play 4 Test matches and Bangladesh is slated to play a one off Test match in India.

The 3 Test match series against New Zealand will be played at Indore, Kanpur and Kolkata.

Dharamsala, Delhi, Mohali, Ranchi and Vizag will host the 5 ODI’s against NZ.

5 Test matches against England will be played at Mohali, Rajkot, Mumbai, Vizag and Chennai.

Pune, Cuttack and Kolkata will be the venues for the 3 ODI’s.

Bengaluru, Nagpur and Kanpur will hold the 3 T20I’s against England.

Australia will tour India in February 2017 to play 4 Test matches hosted by Bengaluru, Dharamsala, Ranchi and Pune.

A stand alone Test match against Bangladesh will be played at Hyderabad.

All these venues will get matches subject to the condition that they have numbered the seats in the stadiums and fulfill all the guidelines laid down by the BCCI.

India Cricket's domestic season will kick off in the month of September where in for the first time ever, Duleep Trophy will be played under lights and with a Pink Ball.

Speaking on the same, BCCI president Anurag Thakur said - 



I welcome the new Test venues hosting this prestigious format of cricket and their arrival will take Test match cricket, to every corner of the country. We are equally excited about the domestic season as we will be playing the Duleep trophy with the pink ball under lights and take this opportunity to welcome Chhattisgarh, who will play Ranji trophy for the first time. 



During the entire season 918 matches will be organized that includes Ranji trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Deodhar Trophy, Irani Trophy, Women’s cricket and all other age group cricket.

This translates into 1882 playing days between September 2016 to March 2017.

Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: