Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Age mistake forces BCCI to replace 7 Indian national U-19 cricketers

In November this year, BCCI named a 15-man squad to take part in the Youth Asia Cup to be held in Sri Lanka from December 15 to 23.

However, just 1 day before the squad was set to assemble for the preparatory camp in Bangalore, 7 members were informed that they didn't meet the age requirements.

The board had incorrectly informed the selectors and Amitabh Chaudhary, the joint secretary of the board, that the cut-off year of birth would be 1-9-1997 instead of 1-9-1998. 

Himanshu Rana, Salman Khan, Harvik Desai, Yash Thakur, Heramb Parab, Vivekanand Tiwary and Het Patel have been added to the side.

On the other hand, Digvijay Rangi, Chandan Sahini, Daryl S Ferrario, Sandeep Tomar, Rishabh Bhagat, Simarjit Singh and Izan Sayed had to sadly leave the camp.

 A BCCI official said,




It was a major goof-up. Luckily, it came to our notice now. Things could have been worse if we would have come to know about this after the team had landed in Sri Lanka. The selectors were informed and they quickly replaced those seven names. 




Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: